Acrostic poetry anchor chart

I made an anchor chart to help my students with the idea of what acrostic poetry can be(yes, I made it BEFORE class and not WITH them-I know that anchor charts are supposed to be made WITH the students to “anchor” their learning, but I teach 2 classes each day so the chart is made before class by just me-of course, I can always have the kids add to it.) 🙂

I found this on someone else’s website-in one of my previous posts I put a link to their website.

Most of my kids still wanted to just do the simple type of acrostic poetry where you just write one word for each letter in your name. However, I had a couple that branched out (one especially) to include the more free flowing format. 🙂 I’ll post a picture of his poem later for you to see! I think I might have them create an acrostic poem for our next Scott Foresman story-maybe have them work in groups(just thinking out loud here). 🙂

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on April 30, 2011, in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

