Countdown to Summer

20 days til SUMMER VACATION!!!!! 🙂 19 with the kids! But, who’s counting??? I have already started thinking about what I want to do this summer to get ready for next year. Here are some things that are on my “To Do” list!

1. Attend some workshops about intermediate reading/writing

2. Organize and revamp my classroom library

3. Make charts to use with my kids next year for reading, writing, and english

4. Create a rough yearly curriculum plan

5. Figure out how to organize reading/writing notebooks for kids

6. Figure out best room arrangement for whole group lessons/working in small groups/individual conferring

7. Figure out how to incorporate some comprehension skill cards into independent work that will help with state testing

8. Read ALL the books that I want to read to help me plan my curriculum/year/action plan

9. Make table skirts (well, get my mother-in-law to do this :)) for computer table and small group table-maybe even teacher desk!

10. Create Scott Foresman Reading Street resources-powerpoints for each weekly story/week at a glance sheets/trifold discussions/and whatever else I can think of

11. Thinking about technology and how to incorporate it into my lessons

What are your plans this summer for getting ready for next year?

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Planning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

