Common Core Standards

The state of Alabama adopted the Common Core Standards back in November 2010 for English and Math. How do you feel about this? There are mixed emotions about this adoption of national standards. Come people feel that it is another intrusion from our federal government; others feel that they give us a common goal. I have looked over the Common Core Standards-they seem to be a bit more explicit than our Alabama standards which seem sort of vague to me. Alabama only has 17 standards for Reading/English/Spelling/Writing for 6th grade-so why do I still feel crunched for time? 🙂 This past year (my 1st in 6th grade) I went strictly “by the book”-that is, I started with Week 1 in our Scott Foresman Reading Street and went week by week/story by story. I really feel that I focused too much on “the story” and not enough on the comprehension strategies that the kids need to be able to read and understand ANY text-NOT JUST THE WEEKLY STORY.

Having said all of this-my goal for this summer is to sit down with the AL Course of Study, the Common Standards, my Reading Steet books, and all of the other GREAT books that I have purchased (like the Daily 5/CAFE/R5 in the classroom/The Book Whisperer/etc, etc, etc) and PLAN out my year according to all of this.

Hopefully, the Common Core Standards will benefit me in this endeavor! 🙂

http://www.corestandards.org/assets/CCSSI_ELA%20Standards.pdf

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on May 3, 2011, in Common Core Standards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Do you do the whole book of Old Yeller, or just part of it? Alice Lee

    • Alice,

      When I taught reading I only did the excerpt from the book that was in our reading textbook. Didn’t have time for the entire book although several of my students read the whole book. 🙂

  2. Ok, Thanks. What you have put on your page will be very helpful. You have given me so very good ideas and I thank you for that. You are a very good teacher. Hope you have a great year.

  3. Suzanne Fairley

    Now that its been a few years have you stayed in sixth and found a niche? Im new to reading street and have thought about going strictly by the book this year to get a feel for it. What have you changed?

    • Suzanne- I’ve been bounced around a lot. 🙂 My 4 years in 6th were 2 language arts, 1 history, and 1 self contained. This year I was in 1st. And now I’m changing school systems to teach 6th grade math ONLY. 🙂 Yay!! So this summer I’ll be digging into common core math! Maybe I’ll find my niche soon! Lol!

Leave a Reply

