Summary vs. Reading Response

We have been trying to read a poem each week for our bell work (daily warm up). We partner read the poem each day and then look for interesting words (vocabulary), specific things related to our english skill/concept, etc. Today I asked them to write a response to the poem. Then we shared them with the rest of the class. Several thought that meant a summary so…….

I had them draw a t-chart and write summary on one side and reading response on the other side. We added our ideas about what each one is-they did real well with this (of course after I had already explained the difference between a summary and a response). 🙂

Now we will see how they do next week when I ask them to write a response. I think that sometimes I expect them to already know certain things-AND THEY DON’T KNOW THEM. Next year I am definitely going to back up and start with baby steps.

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on May 6, 2011, in Reading response and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

