Busy, busy day!

Our kids had their 1/2 day of play today-if they sold at least 3 tubs of cookie dough for the school fundraiser they got to go outside and play for 1/2 of the day so we were missing 1/2 of our kids from 12:00 til the end of the day. The rest of us watched a movie! 🙂 Which means that the 1st half of the day we had to try and teach everything and swap to teach the other class and swap back. WHEW!!!!! Tomorrow is the 2nd half of this reward plus we have our high school award day which will take about an hour, so……. what to do tomorrow???

I think I will give a fresh read test (cold read with comprehension questions), partner read poem, practice readers theater, and that might be all we get to. We have 12 days of school left, and even though I am ready for summer vacation I almost would like some more time with them to try out some different things that I want to implement next year!!!!! 🙂 It’s always good to try out new things with the class that is used to you before you get a brand new class and try to establish rules, procedures, routines, etc.  🙂 At least that’s my motto!

I really wish I had about another hour in the school day (or more) to be able to do all that I want to do! 🙂

Next year I hope to implement the CAFE literacy model along with the Daily 5-both of these were created by The Two Sisters. I will hopefully be posting more about these later-you should buy both of their books-they are fabulous! These two models create independence, critical thinking, and include lots of individual conferring with students. I’m excited!

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on May 12, 2011, in Journey Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

