A good poem for beginning of year

I found a great poem to use for around the beginning of the year to introduce my 6th graders to my reading class-it is by E.B. White. Next year I plan to use one poem per week to help my kids with reading fluency, english concepts, etc.

http://saralewisholmes.blogspot.com/

We have been doing this for the last several weeks-it’s funny to see how they react to the poems differently each week. They did NOT like the poem I used this past week because it was hard to understand! 🙂 (It was hard to understand). But at least that makes them think!

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on May 13, 2011, in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

