How to use fresh reads

I REALLY want to use the fresh reads that go along with our weekly units in the Scott Foresman Reading Street 6th grade reading program.

Here are the drawbacks:

1. The fresh read passages themselves are pretty boring

2. I don’t have a lot of time in my schedule to plug them in

3. Some of them are hard to understand

4. The questions are HARD!

Here are the good things:

1. They are a great preparation for state testing because of the passage formats

2. I could easily use them to teach different strategies since they are short texts

3. I could use some of their questions, but also make up my own

Here is one plan that I have come up with-not sure if it is workable or beneficial, but I’m game for trying it out!! This would be if I used the fresh read every other week instead of weekly. I could use an “article” from a newspaper or magazine the 1st half of the week-then the fresh read for the 2nd half of the week.

Monday- High interest article-introduce reading strategy-read and practice reading strategy

Tuesday-High interest article-read again practicing reading strategy

Wednesday-Fresh read-read and practice reading strategy

Thursday-Fresh Read-read again practicing reading strategy

Friday-Assess using the fresh read and questions about fresh read

Anyway, this is just a thought! I’ll probably change my mind again over the summer! 🙂

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on May 16, 2011, in Fresh Reads and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

