Brainiac teaching

You probably know by now that I am wanting to change my approach to teaching reading next year for my 6th graders. We use the Scott Foresman Reading Street reading program K-6 (I teach 6th), and this whole year I have felt like I was teaching the story each week instead of teaching them the skills/strategies they need to really increase their thinking and learning ability. So- I am wanting to do lots of different things next year with my new group of 6th graders. I have been reading a little about brain based learning, but this summer I am planning on reading even more books about the brain and learning. I definitely want to read Teaching With the Brain in Mind by Eric Jensen.

I am also wanting to incorporate some reading of newspapers and short stories and articles into my reading program. I found this 7th grade level article on the brain that I plan on using at the very beginning of the year. I want my students to know about the brain and how connections are made in their brain. Here is the article that I plan on reading with them:

http://www.havefunteaching.com/worksheets/reading/reading-comprehension/your-amazing-brain.pdf

I also have included a link to a teacher’s blog that has a GREAT hands-on activity about the brain that I plan on doing with my 6th graders at the beginning of the year:

http://www.fortheloveofteaching.net/2011/02/wildly-successful-metacognition-lesson.html

This teacher is getting her master’s degree in brain compatible learning. I can’t wait to do this with my kids next year! 🙂

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on May 19, 2011, in Brain based learning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

