Reading goals anyone?

This was my 1st year teaching 6th grade so I wasn’t really sure at the beginning what I wanted to do with independent reading. I read The Book Whisper by Donna Miller and decided to set a goal of 40 books for the year. Well, of course I didn’t provide them with the time in class to read indpendently because we focused so much on Scott Foresman so I only had 4 students out of 38 that met or exceeded their goal. They were 4 girls that loved to read anyway! 🙂 Here are pictures of 3 of them holding their U.S. map with 40 or more states colored in to represent total books read.

Next year I am going to set the goal at 50 or more books. However, I am going to implement The Daily 5 (or Daily 2, maybe) and CAFE in my classroom which means they are going to have A LOT more time in class to read independently. I can’t wait!! 🙂

I am also going to change some of the genre requirements for what they read independently from what I had them do this year. AND-their entire reading notebook is going to be restructured!!!

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on May 26, 2011, in Reading comprehension, Reading Genres and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Runde's Room

    Oh my goodness – we have so much in common. I have a grade 6/7 class, and I also read the Book Whisperer this summer. I put the goal at 30 books, and I thought I had provided enough independent reading time, but alas, I have only 2 students (out of 21) that have met their goal so far. I still have one month of school left, though. I’m hoping more meet their goal by the end of the year. I can’t wait to do it again next year. I have the Cafe book in my summer reading pile this year, so we’ll see how it changes my language program next year.
    Jen

    • I just bought the Cafe book and read it (and still buying more through amazon.com). 🙂 I tried the Daily 5 (really Daily 2) toward the end of school a few times. My 6th graders loved it! I even had one boy(popular, athletic) ASK several times if we were going to be able to do the Daily 5!!! I am definitely going to try to have more independent reading time/individual conferring/small group instruction next year. I also want to try and teach english/grammar through their writing instead of isolation. Tommorow is our last day of school! 🙂 Keep in touch and let me know how many or your kids meet the goal!

Leave a Reply

