Thoughts on Waiting for Superman

My teaching partner and I watched the documentary film “Waiting on Superman” a few months ago (with snacks of course-we wanted to feel like we were at the movies even thought we were in a 20X20 classroom!). We couldn’t believe the bias of this film-they totally gave a skewed vision of public schools, teachers, and unions or professional organizations! Now don’t get me wrong-I am ALL about improving public education, public schools, the teaching profession, and the list goes on! BUT-let’s spread the blame around fairly and evenly instead of putting it all on the backs of teachers, unions, and public schools. Anyway, I could go on and on and on and on-but I’ll save you from that! 🙂 I recently subscribed to a 5th grade teacher’s blog and wandered upon one of her posts about this particular film and wanted to share it with you! It was very enlightening AND I AGREE WITH HER!!! Right on sister…..

http://juiceboxesandcrayolas.blogspot.com/2010/10/my-response-to-waiting-for-superman.html

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on June 7, 2011, in Journey Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

