Book Challenge-Book#2

I just had to read Karen Hesse‘s “The Music of Dolphins” after I had 2 students read it back in May and recommend it to me. One of them was a very low level reader-probably about 2nd grade level in 6th grade. She started reading it after she saw another student reading it, and they ended up sort of reading it together. They both enjoyed it-it’s not too lengthy either. So-I read it in 1 day!

Let me first say that I loved how I was immediately drawn into the setting of the ocean with the dolphins-Karen Hesse outdid herself with her description of the dolphins and their characteristics-what imagery she created! It was indeed a different kind of plot being that a girl had essentially grown up with the dolphins after being stranded on an island-she appeared more dolphin-like than human-like. What a concept! 🙂

This definitely needs to be put on everyone’s “to read” list!

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on June 10, 2011, in Book Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

