Just got hit over the head!!!! :)

I know that a lot of my teaching strategies/styles, etc. need to change, and I “try” to change to better fit my students, but now it’s not a matter of just trying to change, it’s a matter of having to change! Our students NEED us to change in order to help them learn and live up to their potential!

Watch this video to see what I’m talking about!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGvl5dg3l2M&feature=youtu.be

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on June 14, 2011, in Journey Thoughts, Tech Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Just curious as to which edition you’re using? I’m teaching the grammar/spelling for 6th grade SF this year (The 6th grade teacher will take my 4th graders for math)…we’re using the 2008 edition

    • We are using the 2008 edition, too. I am really wanting to change up how I teach the grammar and spelling, though. I had kids who could ace the spelling test every week, but it didn’t carry over to their writing at all so it seemed sort of pointless to continue with that way of teaching. And don’t even get me started on grammar!! 🙂 Lots of my 6th graders couldn’t even pick out nouns, verbs, etc. in sentences (and I mean the basic parts of speech) and they have been taught those things since AT LEAST 2nd grade! What to do-what to do? Needless to say-I’ma changing my teaching for this next year. Let me know how you plan on using your Scott Foresman!

      • Just curious as to which edition you’re using? I’m teaching the grammar/spelling for 6th grade SF this year (The 6th grade teacher will take my 4th graders for math)…we’re using the 2008 edition

        With 4th grade I had 2 spelling lists…It didn’t seem to work too bad. For grammar I used daily language review every day. The DLR was an activity that students completed when they returned from PE-they had 5 minutes to do it- and then we went over the correct answers. I did a rainbow grammar sentence on the back side, which involved students writing a sentence and then coloring the nouns pink, verbs red=etc. My only fear is that when they get into junior high and are asked what part of speech dog is, they’ll say pink! 🙂

      • Pat-
        That is too funny! 🙂 I think this year for spelling/word study I am going to focus on roots, prefixes-maybe 5 words each week. I also want to focus on about 3-5 high frequency words (especially the ones they consistently spell wrong in their writing), and for good measure I want to throw in 2 or 3 words that we will be using all of the time: inferring, analyzing, synthesizing, etc. I am “mostly” going to focus on the meanings. With grammar I REALLY want to teach it in context but have not a clue on how to do that so I am going to have an english focus each week with a quick activity each day to practice it-I also want to do the Daily Grammar Practice-have you heard of it? It’s pretty cool! 🙂

  2. When you get a chance, let me know more about Daily Grammar Practice. Many years ago when I was teaching just 6th grade English I used Caught’Ya which is a daily addition to a story the students write and make corrections. Repetitive grammar practice. I might use this 2nd semester.
    Pat

    • OMG! I have that book-Caught’Ya and started out using it but it took up so much time that I stopped after about 2 weeks? My kids were so disappointed! You’re going to cringe when I say this, but I don’t want to spend too much time out of my 2 hour block on english/grammar. 😦 We have so much pressure at our school on the ARMT scores so I want my BIG focus to be reading.

      Daily Grammar Practice is where you give the kids 1 sentence for the WHOLE week and each day you teach/reinforce/do something different with it. Here is a link to another teacher’s page on it:
      http://www.mrsserina.com/dgp.htm
      She really explains it well! 🙂 Let me know what you think!

  3. Thanks for the link to daily grammar practice…and maybe Caught’ya was too involved and that’s why I didn’t use it but one year. Short memory—many years teaching-HA HA!

Leave a Reply

