Yummy real reading sundae

I have been trying to figure out how to anchor the reading comprehension strategies for my 6th graders-I want to make it more visual and concrete for them. So I have searched and searched and searched and oh, did I say I have searched? 🙂 I finally found 2 resources to help me with this vision of mine (cause I don’t have too many original ideas!).

The 1st resource is this book: Comprehension Connections by Tanny McGregor

  It is one of the BEST books I have ever read regarding reading comprehension! Tanny does an amazing job of providing concrete ideas/lessons to teach the reading comprehension strategies. I downloaded it onto my kindle while I was in Chicago and read it in one day! She uses mostly easy to find items to anchor the kids’ learning-things like a rock, a purse, etc. This is how I will introduce ALL of the strategies at the beginning of school. I am not going to start my “official” reading program until I have introduced and taught all of the reading strategies: visualizing-asking questions-connections-determining importance-fix up/self monitoring-synthesizing-inferring

The 2nd resource that I found is on another teacher’s website-Mrs. Cervone (who teaches 4th grade) at McDonald Elementary School

Here is the link to her website: http://teacherweb.com/FL/McDonaldElementary/MrsCervone/index.html

Now, on to the GOOD FOOD part!!! After I introduce and teach all of the comprehension strategies, I am going to culminate it by creating a “Real Reading Sundae”. We will create an anchor chart of the comprehension strategies in the form of an ice cream sundae. Then we will physically manipulate construction paper pieces to form the ice cream sundae while thinking and discussing what we are doing. Then comes the FUN part-we will actually create an ice cream sundae! Learn. Eat. Enjoy.

See below for the pdf document to guide you in this lesson. This was created by Mrs. Cervone and this link will take you to her document that is part of her website under her reading workshop section. THANKS MRS. CERVONE!!! 🙂

http://teacherweb.com/fl/mcdonaldelementary/mrscervone/realreadingsundae.pdf

 

 

 

 

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on July 9, 2011, in Reading comprehension and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. ❤ the connection…Wish I would have had it last year when I used ice cream cones & scoops of ice cream to track books read…I’ll figure out how to use it…thanks.

    Pat

    A Time to Share & Create

  2. The site you have posted are awesome! I so glad I found your site through Teaching Blog Addict! Thanks so much for finding these gems!!!!

    How are you going to assess your students? I have to have a participation and a test grade everyweek.

    • Erica- We actually use the Reading Street Reading Program, but I am really wanting to incorporate a lot of independent reading into my day as well as implementing the CAFE structure and the Daily 5 so I haven’t really worked everything out yet. This is what I do know: Each week or every 2 weeks I am going to assess their reading comprehension by giving them a fresh read passage(one they have never read before) with some questions including an open ended question. I am also going to have them write a literary letter to me about what they are reading probably once each 6 weeks. I have just started reading yet another professional book-Independent Reading Inside the Box by Lisa Donahue, so I’m thinking about using her 8 box strategy sheets-they will fill it out as they read an independent book (this could be a participation grade). I promise that as soon as I get everything figured out in my head I will post about it!

      I’m glad you visited my blog! 🙂

  3. GREAT idea! Thanks for sharing!
    Jen

    • I’m just THANKFUL for the glorious internet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was so glad that I found that reading sundae on Mrs. Cervone’s site! 🙂

  4. Hi, This is Mrs. Cervone:) I’m glad you found my site helpful. I am moving into a reading coach position this coming school year and hope to restructure my site more for teachers rather than my students and their families. I wish you luck in implementing the Comprehension strategies. Let me know if I can be of any help.
    PS> I found your site through Erica who sent me a question regarding assessment. I’ve been thinking about starting a reader teachers blog. I’ll be sure to read the rest of your posts.

    • Thank you so much for your WONDERFUL information on your website-I bookmarked it right when I found it! 🙂 I do hope you start a reader teachers blog-I will defintely subscribe to it! I love getting new ideas to use with my students-anything to motivate them to read and love it! Good luck with your new position-you will do great!

  5. Awesome. I just found out today that I will probably be teaching 6th grade Reading next year. We also use Reading Street. I can’t wait to explore your site!

    • I’m glad you found my blog-I hope you can use some of the stuff that I’m uploading! I LOVE TEACHING READING! AND I LOVE TEACHING 6TH GRADE(after 6 years in Kindergarten)-I actually have energy left at the end of the day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

