Book Challenge-Book#31

I have finally read a book that I disliked, and I feel guilty about it because it is supposed to be one of those “great reads”. I actually didn’t dislike it at the beginning, but began to the more I read. Please don’t hate me! And, shhhh, don’t tell anyone! ūüôā

The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane

It started out ok(of course I don’t guess I’m really into war books too much), but then I just started to not jive too much with Henry, the main character. He was sort of cocky, and I don’t know…I just didn’t like him!

Of course, even though I don’t like it doesn’t mean my students won’t like it. I think I’m going to do what Donalyn Miller said she does in her book, The Book Whisperer. She tells her students that she couldn’t get into a book or didn’t like it and then asks them if anyone wants to try it! She said it works every time!

At least my next post for the book challenge will be a positive one-stay tuned! ūüôā

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on July 13, 2011, in Book Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

