Book Challenge-#48

I just read Laura Candler’s Power Reading Workshop-Step by Step Guide by Laura Candler and loved it. Even though it still had some of the same things that make the reading workshop unique (like reading records, choice of what to read, teacher conferring with students), it also had some new GREAT things that I’ve never thought of.

My favorite “new” reading power tool was the Magazine Power Hour idea. You let the students read magazines once a month-they get in their non-fiction reading (which is what tests are usually dominated by), and it’s with high interest text! 🙂

There are several more reading tools in Laura’s book-check it out for yourself. The only thing that disappointed me was the lack of assessment ideas, but I have found this to sort of be across the board for reading workshop routines. The assessment pieces that they discuss are usually reading response letters(which I agree with), but mostly just “participation” type rubric grades. I feel that being responsible and on task DOES need to be addressed with the students and parents, but not as part of their report card grade. These types of grades can inflate a student’s grades which can be misleading where their true reading ability is concerned. (Just my opinion) 🙂

Here is the link to buy your copy of this book.

http://www.lauracandler.com/prw/digitalprintcombo.php

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on August 6, 2011, in Book Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. How funny – I just bought it today – plan to start reading it this weekend.

    • Great minds think alike! 🙂 I still have 3 more that I had wanted to read BEFORE school started (Monday for me-Thursday for the kids)-don’t think I’m going to get to them! 🙂 1. Independent Reading Inside the Box
      2. Conferring with Readers-Supporting Each Student’s Growth and Independence 3. Conferring: The Keystone of Reader’s Workshop

      I so want to tailor my instruction individually/small groups this year instead of SO much whole group! We’ll see if I can do it! I’m nervous! 🙂

  2. I’ve got Inside the Box – did a quick read when I got it, and meant to read deeper this summer, but I left it at school. I have another few to get through before school, but I don’t go back until Sept. so there’s no pressure. After I finish Laura Candler’s book, I have a Math Station book for grades 5 – 8. (I don’t know why I keep putting it off – I’m actually quite excited about it).

    • Well, probably because you have 3 (cute) little girls!!! I can’t imagine! My youngest is 17! My 2 stepsons (18 and 20) just moved in with us in the past 3 weeks. HELP! 🙂 All right before school starts!

Leave a Reply

