Read and Write 180-Day 5

Got to love going on a scavenger hunt in the classroom!!!! It got them engaged and moving, and they (hopefully) will know where everything is and take ownership of “our” classroom. I typed up a list of 25 things/areas in our classroom, put them with a partner, and gave them about 10 minutes to try and find each thing on their list. Then we stopped, and I called out each thing and gave the partners a chance to go and point to it-if they got it right they won a seed. After going through all 25 things I called out about 10-15 more places in the room. When we finished this up, they counted their seeds-whoever had the most won some candy! Will definitely do this again each year! Look at the fun they had:

Here is the classroom scavenger hunt form (beware-the text is very small). 🙂

Classroom Scavenger Hunt word

Classroom Scavenger Hunt pdf

OK-this was not in the curriculum, but I just had to take a picture of the BIGGEST water bottle I have ever seen!!!!!!! It barely fit in the refrigerator! 🙂

We finished (I think) setting up our IPOD binder-we added 6 more sections after the General and Technology sections:

Reading forms (reading record sheet, genre chart, etc.), Reading mini-lessons, English, Word Study, Writing, and 1 more that’s on the tip of my tongue, but I can’t remember it to save my life! 🙂

We talked about our writing notebooks-the 2 sections in this one will be “My writing” and “Writing mini-lessons”.

We did the first 1/2 of our mission statement activity which was pinterest inspired by this great teacher: http://lifein4b.blogspot.com/2010/09/tgif-im-wiped-out.html

It went really well, even though I think I rushed them a little (one of my bad habits!). Next year I will type up the seven questions, send home with them to do for homework (so they will have more time to think about their answers), and have them transfer to the sticky notes at school. I was pleasantly surprised to see that some of them wanted the classroom to be organized!! Maybe they’ll help to keep it that way! 🙂

Tomorrow we will work in small groups grouping the answers together that are similar. Then we’ll use their answers to create a mission statement for our classroom.

I have never done this much organizing, talking about goals, getting to know each other, establishing a classroom community in the past-hope it pays off! 🙂

I began assessing the kids on their reading fluency by giving them 2 assessments. One is just a list of real and nonsense words to see if they have any phonics breakdowns. The other test is a reading passage. They read for 1 minute(I stressed that they are not speed reading!). I assess their expression, smoothness, accuracy, comprehension with a rubric. I only tested 3 of them (have 47 total in both classes). I REALLY want to finish on Friday-open house is Monday, and I really want to have all of the data ready for parents to see AND I want this data to REALLY guide my instruction for the year!!! 🙂

Here is the reading words list that I created based on a Phonics Strategy workshop that I attended this summer at Jacksonville State University in Jacksonville, AL by Heather Wible. (She is fantastic!!!).

Word List Test Teacher copy

Word List Teststudent student copy

The reading passages I got out of this book:

 It has a great rubric that helps you score the child.

 

 

 

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on August 18, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

