Read and Write 180-Day 8

WOW! What a Monday! Internet didn’t work in my classroom today, can’t print from any computer in my room yet, meeting after school today, and open house tonight! Very.tired. ūüôā

Hopefully, we will be getting into more of a routine this week. I still have some routines to teach, but it’s starting to smooth out. Picture day is tomorrow, so we’ll be thrown somewhat off schedule, but that’s ok-we’ll get there!

We had a good time with our read aloud today-6th Grade Can Really Kill You. We made some predictions on the upcoming chapter, and then we were able to confirm or reject our predictions after reading the chapter. We talked with our partners about our predictions and wrote them in our read aloud notebooks. I think we’ll talk about Helen’s character later this week since that is an area that we need to work on according to one of our reading assessments. They LOVE it when I read to them!!!! They’ve shown me some good thinking so far!

This week in English(and next) we are reviewing the parts of speech. Today we choral read a poem about the 9 parts of speech (including the articles). Then we highlighted all nine parts of speech in the poem-nouns, pronouns, verbs, adjectives, adverbs, conjunctions, interjections, prepositions, and articles. Then we went back through the poem and underlined the examples of each. I had them draw a bubble map graphic organizer with “parts of speech” in the middle bubble. Each day that we review a part of speech we will add the part of speech with a definition and example. Here is a link that will show you a bubble map similar to the one we drew.

http://drb.lifestreamcenter.net/Lessons/process_maps/

After we did all of this, we learned how to power teach a concept to a partner. Now this is something that gets them engaged-they have to interact with each other. It gets them moving (you know how we need oxygen to the brain!). They seemed to really enjoy it! If you have never heard of power teaching then you need to check out this link:

http://wholebrainteaching.com/

I don’t follow it to the tee, but I do use some of it. I love to get my 6th graders up and moving-changing locations. I think it stimulates the brain, re-energizes them, and I know I wouldn’t want to sit down for over 2 hours straight!!!! ūüôā

I introduced our 10 word study words (a combination of vocabulary and spelling) today. (Well, I actually forgot to do this with my 2nd class-oops) They had to copy the 10 words, then I gave them a short kid friendly definition for each one. The rest of the week will be spent really looking at the word, dividing them into chunks, noticing special parts, and discussing the meanings. This week we are doing some “power” words that they will see throughout the year in assignments and tests. Some of the words this week are: describe, infer, summarize, etc.

I introduced our reading passage for the week. I chose to use one that is about our brains so that we can focus on the one organ that we can learn how to train. I had them skim the passage today and highlight any words that they think will be difficult for them. Then we made a class list of them on the board. Tomorrow we will talk about each word before we begin reading the passage. We will also work in groups to talk about our schema, ask questions, and set a purpose for reading.

The last thing we did today was learn about our “Read to Self” time. This will be one of our Fab Five(Daily 5) choices each week(actually they will have to do this EVERY day. We talked about what it would look like and sound like. Then we practiced it for about 3-5 minutes. I watched them and we came back together to talk about what I observed. The only things that I pointed out were: 1. You can’t get up and move around(someone finished their book and wanted to go to the classroom library). 2. A few of them took longer to get started reading, and I said having a bookmark would probably help this instead of them trying to find the page that they were last on. ūüôā All in all, it was good. They liked being able to choose where to read in the room! Even though we have a VERY small room! Here are some pictures of my 2nd class doing Read to Self.

So long for today-see ya tomorrow on Day 9!!!

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on August 23, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

