Read and Write 180-Day 10

Metacognition anyone??? We discussed it today in class. Thinking about your thinking. Or rather-thinking about your reading. I really want them to understand that we have to think when we read or reading is pointless. We can do all different kinds of thinking when we read-we can visualize, make predictions, wonder, question, make connections, and so on. To show them what I meant I did the “reading salad” activity that I saw on this website:

http://www.readingresource.net/strategiesforreadingcomprehension.html

Make sure that when you go to this site you have plenty of time to cruise it!!! It has FABULOUS ideas!!! 🙂

Anyway, I showed them how to think while they read. I had slips of paper with “text” written on them and slips of paper with “thinking” written on them. I had 2 student volunteers(1 on each side of me). As I read the passage out loud, the student with the “text” slips dropped them into a bowl. When I stopped to “think aloud” the student with the “thinking” slips dropped them into the bowl. This mixture is what you HAVE to have to be a real reader-text+thinking=real reading! I hope they got it! I then had them go back to their desks and read the 1st page of the passage with their partner. One partner would read a section aloud and then “think” out loud about it, then vice versa. We will continue to practice this. I also told them that the thinking usually does not happen out loud, but I want them to be able to know what I am thinking so they can see what thinking looks and sounds like.

Oh, by the way-I first wrote metacognition on the board and had them guess what it meant before I told them. Some of their answers were good-literacy, reading, writing, imagining.

We continued our study of more of our “power words”-compare, trace, and explain. It went quicker today than yesterday (yea).

Did NOT get to our read loud today-boohoo!!!

In English we reviewed verbs(just action verbs) and conjunctions. My 2nd class got to watch the schoolhouse rock videos, but my 1st class didn’t because the internet was DOWN AGAIN!!!!!! Here are the links for the videos for verbs and conjunctions:

http://www.schooltube.com/video/2f64b89f85db90e07260/School-House-Rock-Verb-Thats-Whats-aHappenin-Grammar-Rock

http://www.schooltube.com/video/6b265f3478554fef993c/Conjunction-Junction

LOVE THEM!!!!

I introduced the reading response letters to them-well, just part of the guidelines. I will go more in depth with them tomorrow and Friday-I’ll actually have them write a letter while I show them on the ELMO. I didn’t do this last year, so I’m taking my time getting them started this year because I want to read some good thinking about their books!!!!!!!

Here is a copy of the guideline sheet I gave them. They attached it to the inside front cover of their reading response notebooks.

Reading Response Notebook Guidelines

I went over all of it briefly, but I actually showed them how to head their paper, put the date, write the greeting, start out the letter, and write their closing. The other stuff (the in depth thinking) will be saved for tomorrow and Friday and probably many more days because they seemed lost when I was talking about the mood of the book, theme, conflict, etc. 🙂 Don’t even get me started on figurative language! 🙂 There are just some things that they are taught every year, but it just doesn’t stick!!!!!

I also showed them a little of how to answer and open ended question. I made up a RAPS method to help them write their answers.

R-restate the question in a complete sentence

A-answer all parts of the question

P-prove your answer with evidence from the text

S-sum it up or wrap it up with some kind of conclusion

Here is the poster:

RAPSposter

Here are the little cards that I had them put in their writing notebook. They can refer to this each time we practice writing answers to open ended questions.

RAPS Cards for Mini Lesson

The last thing we did today was practice Read to Self. Aaahhh…so quiet!! So nice!!! I listened to about 3 kids in each class read a list of words to me and part of a reading passage. I am going to use this assessment to help me group my kids, but mainly so I will know what each child needs to work on so I can help them individually.

Let me just go ahead and say that I can’t wait to get through a lot of these procedures/routines/expectations so I can begin helping them to reach the goals we set!!!!! But I really want to be explicit in my directions for things like the reading response letters, open ended answers, etc. so they will know what to do and can concentrate on adding depth to their thinking, reading, and doing!!!! 🙂

Talk to you tomorrow!!!

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. If you have a smartphone, you may be able to teather the internet from your phone when the internet drops in the school.

    My teaching is basically crippled when we lose our internet because I store all of my works in the cloud.

    Thanks for sharing the reading response guidelines. I’d like to use reading response notebooks with my students this year.

    If you have access to technology and would like some help on providing publishing opportunities for your students, I’d be happy to share some videos my students worked on last year. http://www1.schooltube.com/Organization/OrganizationHome.aspx?oid=162097&pid=1

    Let me know if you have any questions about these.

    • I don’t have a smartphone-just southern linc! I just started going over the reading response guidelines with my kids yesterday and will continue through next week before I let them loose on their own. I made a rubric today that I’m going to upload (rubrics are hard!!!!!). I’m going to look at your videos on your link later tomorrow-thanks!!!! I showed a schoolhouse rock video to my kids the other day (grammar)-it was on schooltube. One of them said we ought to make our own video this year-so guess what ? We’ll probably make some! I love to see them interested in something and technology definitely does that!!!

  2. What a tremendously awesome blog! Our school currently uses Scott Foresman and I have ALL of the same feelings about the series with you. We are trying to implement Daily 5 and CAFE into our rooms since we adopted common core standards. Reading your posts and all of your documents is really going to help me. I really appreciate it. I’d love to hear how your schedule looks using the Scott Foresman with the Cafe/Fab5. I am nervous about doing it along with writing, grammar, spelling, and the millions of other things!! I am trying to get myself organized over these next two weeks before school starts. I love all of your ideas and your door. I love your idea of spending two weeks on a story instead of one–the stories are LONNNNNG!! Thanks a lot!! I look forward to reading more about what does and doesn’t work!

    • Matt-

      Thank you for your wonderful comments!!! I’m not actually starting the Scott Foresman stuff until the 2nd 6 weeks (4 more weeks to go) because I wanted to set things up differently this year. I hope CAFE/Daily5/Scott Foresman flow well together! Who am I kidding? Nothing in education ever really flows well! 🙂 I love reading and teaching reading and am very excited about “hopefully” doing more small group and individual instruction this year. (But nervous, too!) Maybe we can bounce ideas off of each other this year!

  3. Hi Shannon,
    Yep, I’m right there with you on not starting Scott Foresman until about 6 weeks into the school year. I am just nervous because we have conferences 8 weeks into school year and not sure what I am going to tell parents since I won’t have many assessments on the kids. I am thinking of doing some fresh reads, short passages with questions throughout the weeks. I can’t wait to read and hear how cafe/daily 5 work out for you with Scott Foresman! Definitely bookmarking your blog. It has such valuable resources. I’ve spent hours just looking…

    Tell me what you think:
    First 6-8 weeks making sort of a reference in their notebooks of all the skills/strategies while pre-assessing the children and setting goals before actual cafe/daily 5 begin. Let them practice this until we get it down pat. I just don’t know what my weeks will look like once the textbook comes into play??? The ELA I am teaching this year has 30 kids in the one class–which is a bit better than the 35 I had last year in one class. I need to set up a management plan so I am not going nuts with all the kids all over the place!! How are you thinking of implementing daily5/cafe along with Foresman?

    Thanks!

    Matt

    • Matt-

      If I were you I would definitely do the fresh reads or short passages with questions until you are ready to begin Scott Foresman. This is our 3rd week (today was 13th day), and it is taking FOREVER to set things up and explain/model things that I want them to be able to do for the rest of the year! 🙂 SO-CAFE has not begun and the only part of Daily 5 that I have done is Read to Self (which obviously is the easiest!). I’m always over planning anyway so I never get to everything that I want to in the time frame that I want to, but this year I REALLY wanted to take it slow! And that is exactly what I am doing. Of course, the only grades I have given were end of last week and now I am supposed to send out D/F letters this Thursday! Oh, well- they will just have to understand that our 1st week was spent establishing routines/procedures! That is VERY important when you deviate from workbooks and worksheets! 🙂

      I’m really liking your idea about making a reference of skills/strategies in notebook before beginning CAFE/Daily 5. I think I’m gonna steal that one!!!!! I am already following that pattern with English-reviewing/introducing EVERYTHING that we will cover this year-then going back and focusing on each thing-I want to do that with reading skills/strategies, too! THANKS!

      The textbook is definitely going to throw us for a loop because the stories are so loooooonngggg! I am actually not going to use every story and the ones that I do use will be stretched out for 2 weeks. I figure if the most important thing is for them to be able to use the strategies and master the skills it doesn’t really matter what “text” I’m using to accomplish that. I am going to follow their plan with the skills/strategies so I can give the benchmark assessments each 6 weeks and see who is making progress and who still needs help. I only have 23 and 24 students in each class-good luck with your 30! 🙂

      So here is my sketchy plan for reading: introduce through mini-lessons all 7 (or more) comprehension strategies and the skills (plot, main idea, summarizing, etc) and make that reference in their notebook. Begin Scott Foresman around 7th or 8th week of school. Each 6 weeks I might use 2 stories (stretch out so this will take up 4 out of the 6 weeks)-the other 2 weeks I will use the fresh reads or short passage to reinforce strategies/skills. How does that sound? 🙂

  1. Pingback: Read and Write 180-Day 10 (via 6th Grade Scott Foresman Reading Street Resources) | English Reading Comprehension

Leave a Reply

