Read, read, read

Our goal for 6th grade is to read at least 50 books-10 being picture books. I’m also requiring that they read from different genres so their reading diet can have a variety! 🙂

Here are my requirements (I also added them to my Reading Tools page):

Reading Requirements for 6th Grade

They will also have to keep a reading response notebook. This is where they will write 1 letter each week to me about the book they are reading. Here are the guidelines for the reading response letter so they will know what is expected:

Reading Response Notebook Guidelines

Next week will be when their 1st letter is due. I am going to essentially help them write part of it each day. I’ll post more about how it goes next week-I’ll also try to remember to take pictures of some of them toward the end of the week. This will be a 100 point grade each week (comparable to a test grade).

 

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on August 27, 2011, in Reading response and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. This plan sounds like a good one, except that 50 books seems a little high. If there are 180 school days, that is less than 3 days per book, and it looks like most of the books you are asking for should be lpng books. It usually takes kids a week or two to get through a typical chapter book. I wonder how many books teachers read in a school year? I know I couldn’t get 50 done, haha!

    • eagar2learn–

      You are right-50 books is high, but I would rather aim high and come in under that goal than to aim low and have them only do enough to get by. I’ve got one student who has already read 8 books and SEVERAL who have not finished one. I’ve also told them that I’m not asking them do do anything that I’m not willing to do so I am keeping a record of the books that I am reading-it’s a notebook that I keep in our classroom for them to look at anytime. 10 of the books will be picture books which leaves 40 books as chapter books. The 40 book goal is what most upper grade teachers strive for (if they actually do independent reading in the classroom)- which was inspired (at least to me anyway) by Donalyn Miller, the author of The Book Whisperer. In my opinion, it never hurts to shoot for the stars! 🙂

  2. I wonder how many students will become flustered when they think of such a high number of books. Students in my classroom have read as many as 100 books in a school year, but they were exceptional students. How have your parents responded to the number of books? Do you teach in an affluent area? What is your plan if you get letters written to you that are clearly not written by the student? I admire your intentions. I want to do something like you are doing, but at a smaller scale. Many of my readers struggle with fluency and comprehension. These are also the students that are in the low group in reading. They are with me in small groups while the other students are doing centers so they actually have less time to read books they choose than the good readers. I don’t like it, but that is Reading Street for you. We have no choice in how we teach reading. I will follow, with great interest, how this works for your class. 🙂

    • Gail-

      You have lots of good questions! No, I don’t teach in an affluent area-just the opposite-very rural!! K-12 school with 419 students. I don’t think my students get overwhelmed at the # of books-they know nothing will happen if they don’t reach that goal-I tell them that if they just read more books this year than they read last year they have made progress. Parents haven’t responded at all about it. It’s only a goal-not a grade. As far as the response letters go, I “think” I would know if the kids had not written them themselves-let’s just say that they had the “deer in the headlights” look last week when we went through the guidelines. 🙂 They have never had to respond to their reading (or so they told me and I believe them). Actually this goal of 40 novels is just one that I have “borrowed” from many other teachers out in the blogging world-mainly Donalyn Miller-author of The Book Whisperer. We’ll see how it goes this year! I would say that our of my 47 kids, probably 37 or MORE struggle with comprehension!!!!!! OMG! And I don’t feel that the 14 page 6th grade level (or higher possibly) reading street stories are going to be what they need-that’s why I want to do the independent reading with a BIG focus on comprehension strategies!!! I want to bring back a joy for reading that has sort of been squashed in the lower grades (at no fault of the teachers) due to scripted programs, DIBELS, focusing on reading faster, faster, faster! I want to have conversations about books and to create critical thinkers and critical readers (with what they want to read).

      So after all that-I just hope that they read more, find one or more books they love, and become better readers! 🙂

  3. I am also a 6th grade teacher and am doing the same thing in my classroom. I started it last year. Did all of the students read 40 books? No. Some read 80! 80 chapter books! I read 52 adult/middle school level chapter books and gave book commercials to the students for most of them. As far as my struggling readers, those who only read 1 or 2 books last year read 12 or 13 this year. That’s a huge leap and they were better for it! Power to the 6th grade reading teachers!! Have a great year!

    • Kathryn-

      Thank you for the inspiration!! I needed every word you said with a day like I had today! 🙂 I always like to set the goal high-even if the kids don’t reach the goal, if they read more than they have in the past then it is worth it!!! 🙂 I feel better after reading your comment! 🙂

  4. Instead of books. How many pages do you expect them to read?

  1. Pingback: Read, read, read (via 6th Grade Scott Foresman Reading Street Resources) | English Reading Comprehension

Leave a Reply

