Read and Write 180-Day 15

Today’s post may be short since I went out to eat at 5, played BUNCO until 10, and am finally getting around to writing this post at 10:54 pm! 🙂

We went over4 more of our word study words today-fortitude, justice, and 2 more that my brain just won’t let me remember right now!!!!

We reviewed adverbs today in English (these are usually the hardest parts of speech!!!). We watched the grammar house rock video twice, added the definition to our web graphic organizer, and wrote examples of adverbs. Here is the link to the school tube video:

http://www.schooltube.com/video/054c4aca89b412d90612/School-House-Rock-Lolly-Lolly-Lolly-Get-Your-Adverbs-Here-Grammar-Rock

We are having our English test tomorrow-we had A LOT of great grades on the English test last week!!!!!! I was so proud of them! I tried to give some hints on the test that I JUST made up for tomorrow!!! My goal when testing is NOT to trip kids up, but to have the tests actually be a teaching/remediation/reinforcing tool!!! I’m going to try and review with some of my students who did not do well last week while I let the other kids review among themselves. It’s very important that they understand/know the parts of speech since we will work with them ALL year.

We finished practicing our open ended response on our passage-“Leaving Her Mark”. I can’t wait to see how they do this Friday on that part of our reading test.

We took notes on 2 of the comprehension strategies that we have worked with this week-1. Activating our schema(background knowledge) and 2. Visualizing

I talked to them about how to complete the third box of their comprehension thinking sheet for homework. This 3rd box is the “Thoughts/Reflections” box. They have to write about their thoughts and reflections on the book they are reading. Here is an example of what I would like to see:

“I really like 6th Grade Can Really Kill You because it makes me laugh some, and I can sympathize with Helen’s character. I can feel her embarrassment about her problem with reading. It’s easy for me to visualize the things that are happening in the story. I would recommend this book to all students since it’s not complicated to read, and they could probably make some connections when they are reading. I can’t wait to finish this book to see if Helen does pass the 6th grade. I hope she learns how to read better.”

We read Chapter 6-Shooting the Duck today in our read aloud. We shared our predictions-it’s funny to see the kids’ reactions when they realize that they predicted right or missed it! 🙂

I gave out my homework explanation sheet today so the kids and the parents will know what to expect with homework and tests for the WHOLE year. My homework routine will stay the same ALL year! Here is a copy of the homework sheet I gave them:

6th Grade Homework word

OK-it’s 11:08 pm, and I’m about to finish grading the reading tests from last week. 🙂

 

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on September 1, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Shannon!
    Love your blog! I also teach 6th grade reading. I am curious as to when you will start Reading Street.

    • Anna-

      This is our 3rd week of school-I think I’m going to start it between the 6th and 8th week of school. I want to make sure that I am able to introduce ALL of the comprehension strategies and skills, ALL of the english/grammar concepts and skills so that everything will be familiar to them before we start really digging deeper into everything!

Leave a Reply

