Read and Write 180-Day 23

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

I.am.so.tired. ūüôā This week is homecoming week and Taylor has volleyball games. So bear with me!

My homeroom class worked for about 1 1/2 hours this morning on our classroom door for the contest. We will finish it in the morning, and I’ll post a pic hopefully tomorrow night. They are doing a FANTASTIC job! Hope we win!

So as you have guessed, we didn’t get a lot done during the 1st class. We did discuss our word study word meanings and practiced English (sang our preposition song and talked about some new conjunctions like: because, although, since, unless, etc.)

We read our reading passage and REJECTED the list of things that we wrote down yesterday after skimming the passage for what we thought might be hitchhikers in our passage). We now know what a “pseudoscorpion” is! Yikes!

That’s about it for the 1st class!

This afternoon we:

Word study words-discussed meanings

English-practiced conjunctions and preposition song

Here is the preposition song sheet that I promised you yesterday:

Preposition Song This is so much fun!!!

Reading-read the passage and REJECTED our list !

Writing- Practiced writing an introduction for our compare and contrast essay. I modeled how to write it on the board-did not even think of taking a picture! But this is how they suggested we could start:

I am going to tell you about the similarities and differences between dirt roads and paved roads.

This is what I actually wrote for them: (If I can remember) ūüôā

Have you ever ridden in a truck or on a four-wheeler on a dirt road? Then you know how much more fun it is than just riding on a paved road. There are several differences and similarities between these two types of roads. Read on to find out more!

I explained to them that they want to GRAB or CAPTURE the reader’s attention so they will want to keep reading. I compared it to the beginning of a novel-if it is blah, blah, blah at the beginning then they will want to abandon it. We want the reader to be interested!

We had time for Read to Self and Work on Writing! YEA!!!!!!! I checked and graded reading response notebooks (that will be a separate post later on!!!). We actually go to do 2 rounds of this!!! YEA!!! In between the 2 rounds, I gathered them on the rug and talked to them about their reading response letters. I read one of them out loud-we complimented it and then critiqued it (they actually had an easier time complimenting than critiquing). And let me tell you the best thing about this quick mini-lesson:

I got to sit in my COMFORTABLE black chair behind my reading table without having to GET UP!!!! LOL! I hardly EVER sit down during the day!!!! This is definitely how I will be conducting MANY mini-lessons between our 2 rounds!!!

Until tomorrow……

 

 

 

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on September 14, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love your blog! I am learning so much from it. I noticed your preposition song and tried it. I have one I use that goes to the tune of the Battle Hymn of the Republic. If you are interested I’d be happy to share. We just finished our preposition identification test and I had all but 2 students pass. (and I have a really low class this year!)

Leave a Reply

