Read and Write 180-Day 25

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Why do I think I can actually teach during Homecoming spirit week??? 🙂 Between working on a classroom door and the hundreds of interruptions each day for announcements-all I’m saying is that you would think I would have learned my lesson by now since this is my 8th year. 🙂

We went ahead and took all 3 of our tests today-Word study, english, and reading

I let the kids study with each other for the word study test before they took it. I called out the definitions and things we had discussed this week and they wrote the words (they could copy from the board). So far this year I have given them 2 paper tests and 2 oral tests. I’m trying to change it up for a couple of reasons. One reason is that I want the kids to be able to excel (hopefully) in whichever way they can. I also don’t want them to just regurgitate words and definitions-I want them to OWN these words and what they mean.

We practiced labeling some sentences before they took the english test. Will english ever get easier for them? I sure hope so! Today on their test they had to do what we had learned this week AND everything we have learned so far. I want each week to be cumulative of what we have learned so far. Maybe this way they can retain it!

The reading test was a baby test today! 5 questions and they were all just the “right there” kind of questions-they didn’t require any higher level thinking. All they had to do was look back in the passage and find the answer! I wanted to give them sort of a break this week because of spirit week! 🙂

I checked homework-I don’t want to be negative right now so I won’t even talk about the results of this! 🙂

 

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on September 16, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

