Read and Write 180-Day 31 and 32

Monday, September 26, 2011 (AND Friday, September 23, 2011)

Yes, I missed my kids today. I was not at school-I was subpeonaed(sp?) to court as a witness in a child custody case for a previous student. I was never called to testify. I did see a lot of heartache. Life is so hard. My heart goes out to the ones involved.

 

Let me update you on this past Friday-test day. 🙂 Word study test and reading. Pep rally. Gave out graded papers for parents to sign.

Our reading test was an unusual one this past Friday-we did NOT work with a specific reading passage. I retaught how to complete their comprehension thinking sheet on their choice books since I am not seeing the kind of reflective and deep thinking that I want to see on everyone’s paper. THEN, Friday, their reading assessment was to complete one of these sheets on their choice book. I hope to see some critical thinking when I grade them. 🙂

I did take a picture of our “graffiti wall” that we are using in our room this year. This is where the kids can recommend books to each other and write quotes that they find when they are reading.

 Will we have room to keep writing by December??? 🙂

I also took a picture of one my student’s 1st reading response letters. These are the letters that they have to write to me each week (1 each week) on the book of their choice that they are reading. They have guidelines to go by, and I grade them using a rubric that I created. Here is a top notch student’s letter that earned him a 100! 🙂

Close up picture of each page:

I got a cute picture of some of our class about to run down the hill after the pep rally-this gets them so jazzed up!!

 We all LOVE Fridays! 🙂

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for sharing your classroom ideas! Can you provide more details or a sample of what should go in your comp think sheet pls? Or a link of whats expected? I am having a hard time visualizing it. Thanks a bunch!

    • I will be glad to-let me go through the ones on my living room floor 🙂 , and take a picture. I’ll write a post about them and put the picture on the post in just a few! 🙂

Leave a Reply

