Read and Write 180-Day 36

Friday, September 30, 2011

Another pep rally Friday AND fun Friday! Which means less time in the classroom. Awww…….

We:

1. Took our word study test-it was actually a spelling test this week for the 1st time this year. I have only been testing vocabulary, but I have seen several students misspell some high frequency words that DON’T need to be misspelled in the 6th grade so……

2. We took our reading test on the passage-“Founding Fathers”. I threw in a visualization question and a question where they had a choice between making a connection to the passage or writing about a question they had while reading.

3. Gave out graded papers

4. We went to the computer lab and took a STAR reading assessment-I’ll add this information to the assessment web that I plan on making for each student this week. This assessment web will be 2 papers that have ALL of the literacy information that I have been compiling on the students since the 1st week of school. For example, the ARMT state test from last spring, the reading baseline assessment we took the 1st week of school, the STAR reading assessment we took today, a spelling inventory assessment I gave them, a fluency assessment I gave each individual student, etc…. All of this information will help me divide the students into groups since I plan on beginning small group instruction next week. It will also help me guide each student in making an individual reading goal next week.

I went ahead and gave out the study guides for next week instead of waiting until Monday. I might start doing this every Friday.

Have a great weekend! 🙂

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on September 30, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

