Read and Write 180-Day 42

Monday, October 10, 2011

Today was Parenting Day across Alabama-we dismissed the students at 12:00(boy were they happy!). The teachers stayed until 3 to talk with parents. Out of 47 sets of parents I had 5 to visit my classroom, 1 called me, and 1 emailed me (which reminds me that I need to email her back). 🙂

I was able to leave school around 3:35, run by the post office to send off some invoices that I did yesterday for my part-time job, swing by the house to get a jacket, and head to Fayetteville, AL for my daughter’s last volleyball game. They lost, but she played a good game! Then I got talked into going to Pizza Hut and FINALLY got home around 9:45 tonight! WHEW! 🙂 Very tired!

This morning our schedule was different because of our early dismissal so I only had about 1 hour (?) with each class. I gave out graded papers, we did our english (this week we are focusing on helping verbs), I introduced our word study words (5 are spelling, 8 are spicy action verbs).

Then we did 2 rounds of Read to Self and Work on Writing. I let them do their homework in class since they were getting out early.

One parent that I talked with today said she felt like her child was getting better at being able to visualize when she reads! I sure hope so! Another parent told me that her child loves the fact that I have complimented her on her writing. I LOVE moments like these! 🙂

 

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on October 11, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Shannon!

    After trying 3,482 (okay, maybe 20 or so) times, I think I have figured out how to leave a comment for you!
    If this goes through, expect more accolades, because I think your blog is fantastic!
    I left an e-mail button on my blog as you requested… check it out. You’re going to know it’s for you…

    Happy day… Congrats on the parent compliments!

    Kim
    Finding JOY in 6th Grade

    • You are too funny!! 🙂 You should have been sitting beside me this summer when I was trying to make a blog button! OMG! I finally had another teacher/blogger make mine for me. Thanks for the compliment! I’m headed to your blog right now to subscribe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

