Read and Write 180-Day 48

Tuesday, October 19, 2011

Phonics has been long forgotten. 🙂 It was difficult for my morning class to figure out what I wanted them to do with their word study words. With some of the words we are focusing on spelling, the rest of them we are focusing on meaning. So what I wanted them to do with the spelling words (all 4 of them) 🙂 was to generate 2 more words that fit the same spelling/sound pattern. Our 4 words this week are:

disturb, ignore, artistic, nervous

“ur”-“or”-“ar”-“er” These are the 4 patterns. FINALLY, they understood what to do! Whew!

We finished reading 6th Grade Can Really Kill You. I think everyone was sad to finish this book-they can’t BELIEVE that the author did NOT write a sequel to it! 🙂 I’m still not sure which book we will start reading next week-here are the 3 that I plan to read to them this year:

Walk Two Moons

Out of My Mind

The Watsons Go To Birmingham

We finished reading our basal story-Old Yeller. And boy did we analyze some characters today. They had to write a paragraph analyzing the character of Little Arliss. I’m trying to teach them that when they use an adjective (character trait) to describe a character they need to explain why they think it best describes the character. Proof from the text. We worked on this one and then another one on Travis, Little Arliss’ brother. I had them swap their paragraphs with a partner and underline the character traits that their partner used. I think they were getting the hang of it by the 2nd one. This should REALLY help them when they write their reading response letters.

More individual conferences today-YEA! The only drawback that I have seen is when I call a student back to my table and they can’t find the CAFE reading menu or the reading goals sheet. That makes Mrs. Shannon NOT a happy camper! 🙂

I am having DAILY requests from students to “meet with me”. 🙂 Gotta love that!

 

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on October 19, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

