Read and Write 180-Day 49

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

OK. I did it. I admit it. I used class time today to grade some stuff. Yes, I felt guilty. I do NOT like doing this because I believe that 7:30-2:30 it my time with students and after that is my time with paper. 🙂 But I had to get caught up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Here is a picture of the sentence that we labeled today for english.

For our word study words (vocabulary) I had them work with a partner OR independently (their choice) and write a paragraph/short story using at least 5 of the 8 words. THEY TURNED OUT GREAT!!!!!!! This really seems to be a creative bunch!!!! I have got to start allowing some time in our day to write with choice instead of me always trying to show them how to write something specific (like summaries, compare/contrast, etc.). If I could only add 127, 438 more hours to the day!! 🙂 I’ll see if I can remember to scan or take a picture of some of the stories. One that I remembered was about a ghost who was made to be bad but wanted to be generous. How original!! 🙂

For our read aloud today (since we just finished our chapter book and will not start another one until probably next week) I read 2 shorts stories from this book:

 The two that I chose to read were “The Appointment” and “The Bus Stop”. They weren’t gruesome, but just sort of chilling. I offered to let the ones who didn’t want to hear them to sit in the hall while I read them. I only had 2 students in my afternoon class to take me up on it, and then they said they just listened to it anyway (I had the door ajar). 🙂

I had them work in groups to answer 5 comprehension questions about “Old Yeller”. We’ll go over them tomorrow.

Here is the trifold with the questions on it:

DiscussionTrifoldUnit1Week1

I didn’t meet with any students today. GASP!! But I did have one of my students approach me and ask if he just needed to write his name on our calendar to schedule an appointment with me because he really needs me to help him with some comprehension strategies!!! 🙂

TOO CUTE!

 

 

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on October 20, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

