Read and Write 180-Day 51

Friday, October 21, 2011

Today got way off schedule.

This was my plan-word study test for spelling, word study test for vocabulary, reading test in the computer lab(all multiple choice), reading test in classroom (open ended response question), Pep Rally, Fun Friday(we take the kids outside for good behavior).

This was what happened-

Morning Class-we did BOTH word study tests, but the 2nd test was where I had them use at least 5 out of the 8 words and write a short 1 page story. 40 minutes later I had to tell a few of them that I was going to have to cut their time off. 🙂 It is SO hard to teach to such different levels within a class! By that time we had to go to the pep rally. After the pep rally we went to the computer lab to take the Scott Foresman reading test for “Old Yeller”. Once we realized that ONLY 18 computers worked!!!!!!!!!!, and that SOME of the kids pearson success home page had a “Words, Unfamiliar” thingy come up INSTEAD of the selection test, and I had to show some students HOW to even get on the internet, then some students couldn’t spell “success” to type in the pearson success website link, then some had to actually put it our town’s zip code (Don’t ask me why!) and they didn’t even know their zip code, and I had to get a wig to put on to cover up my bald spots where I had been pulling my hair out! :), WE TOOK THE TEST!!!!! YEA!!!!!!

ok-on to the 2nd part of the day. We swapped classes, went to lunch, were going to take them outside for 30 minutes before my 2nd class had to go to the library, but about 4 students forgot how to walk in line correctly (and we are big on this!) so we made them practice this, then finally got outside and let them race each other on the football field. I raced against 3 boys and came in 3rd place (go figure). Of course, then I thought I might throw up because I am SO out of shape!!:) We went to the library, then went to the computer lab to take the reading test. It was much better since I knew what to expect, but it still took me a long time to get everyone set up. Then one of my students had not ever taken the baseline from the beginning of school since she was absent so I had to let her do that because I couldn’t figure out how to skip over it. Of course it took her FOREVER because it is so long-so the rest of the kids were finished while she was still plugging along. For a few minutes I thought I saw sweat form on her hairline! 🙂 I let the other kids get on wordle.net-they had a blast!!!! Then one of my boys said he and another student were talking to each other on wordle. I was like, what????????????? How?????????? He showed me. One would type in what they wanted to say to the other one, then the other one would read the screen, then type in a response, and the other one would read their screen. (They were looking at each other’s screens to read). 🙂 Well, I had asked everyone to be quiet so they had figured out how to communicate and keep quiet!!!! 🙂

By that time, it was time to pack up and swap back. We took them outside again to make up for lost time earlier. And my 2nd class still never got to take EITHER of the word study tests, and both classes didn’t take the open ended question test.

SO…..I think my Monday lesson plans will be: Finish Friday’s work! I also want to go over the reading selection test with them and decide what we need to still work on!! It will be a great learning tool.

Needless to say, it was a CRAZY Friday!! 🙂 Aren’t they all? And next Friday is our last football game AND it is senior day at the pep rally. My daughter is a senior, so I might as well get a sub for that day! 🙂 Or I can just not put on any makeup that morning because it will be gone by the end of the pep rally anyway! 🙂

Have a good weekend-I’m about to take my daughter and her boyfriend to Auburn to shop, eat, and go to a haunted house!!! Can’t wait! 🙂

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on October 22, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

