Read and Write 180-Day 55

Thursday, October 27, 2011

I have an announcement! I would like to ERASE all possessive nouns and apostrophes from our English language!!! Who will sign my petition to get this done????? 🙂

It is looking like we might study these for another few weeks! Need I say more???

We took our english test today on subject and object pronouns. Part of their test was where they had to draw a t-chart and list the subject and object pronouns. I had told them on Monday that would probably be part of their test and they looked at me like I had sprouted wings today when I told them to study them before the test! 🙂 We’ll see if they start listening to me now!

I’m really trying to expand their vocabulary this year so I showed them a website that acts as a visual thesaurus.

http://graphwords.com/

We caught up on our emails from our truckerbuddy. He and his wife are a team and drive ALL over the US. The kids are loving this! We track his trips on a US Map (each student keeps one in their binder). He also asks us questions and we talk about them and respond with our answers. He and his wife are going to bring their truck to our school later on (we are going to surprise the kids with this and not tell them when they are coming!!!).

We read 2 more pages of our story “When Crowbar Came”. I showed them how to listen to their “inner voice”. This is just their thinking that is going on when they read. I read a couple of paragraphs aloud and then told them what my inner voice was saying to me-predictions, wondering, etc. Just my thoughts about what I had read. On the 2nd page (after I had modeled a lot) I had them share with a partner what their inner voice was saying. I walked around and listened to them (heard some good thinking). I heard 2 girls telling each other, “Hey, you stole my inner voice”-LOL! 🙂

I had some individual conferences with some student-during my 2nd class I had just dismissed them to do read to self and work on writing and had sat down at my reading table. I looked to my left and Tyler was sitting there beside me smiling. I asked him if he was trying to make an appointment with me, and he said he already had one and wanted to make sure that I remembered!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Too funny!!! They really like meeting with me individually! I just have to figure out how to work in some small group instruction now!!!

Here are some pictures of the kids that entered our “Drug Awareness” poster contest this week.

Tomorrow is Senior Day at the pep rally-I guess I need to take a whole box of kleenex!!!! 🙂

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on October 28, 2011, in Read and Write 180, Reading comprehension and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hi Shannon:

    Okay, I only read the first paragraph… but I will ABSOLUTELY sign that petition!

    My favorite: I teach this skill. We practice. Then on the SAME paper, they do what we just decided we would never do again! Grrrrr!

    If they just stopped using apostrophes altogether, they would still be right more often!

    Now I can go back and read the rest of your post…

    Kim
    Finding JOY in 6th Grade

    • Kim-

      Apostrophes are going to be the death of me! 🙂 And halfway through the week somebody called it a COMMA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am beginning to think it would be easier for me to teach SPANISH than ENGLISH!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  2. Hi Shannon!

    Okay, I’ll admit: I have called it a “flying comma” before.
    Didn’t help!
    : )

    Kim
    Finding JOY in 6th Grade

Leave a Reply

