I’m B.A.C.K.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think I have made a full recovery!!! That sabbatical from blogging was pure TORTURE! Of course, I still don’t have all the answers to my current problems  in 6th grade, but I can tell you that after giving out work differentiated work packets to my students this past week (and I’m talking about WORK PACKETS!), the change in the reading test grades for this week was unbelievable! Here’s a quick glance at my data change:

LAST WEEK-31 students made either a D or F on their reading test

THIS WEEK-11 students made either a D or F on their reading test

I’m not saying that all problems are solved, but how bout those cookies???????? Would you not say that some students needed to be “encouraged” to try a little harder??? 🙂

Now-having said that, I do have LOTS of students that need me to change something for their sake-this past week I went strictly by the basal (well, as close as anyone can cause let me tell you-if I did EVERYTHING that the basal required I would still be teaching into Sunday each week!). I DO want to teach some small groups-just not sure how to get that done if I continue to go by the basal, but my mind has been spinning for awhile now and I’m sure that I will change what I’m doing a couple of more hundred times before I get it down. 🙂 So I’ll be back to my daily blogging on Monday!

On a side note, I FINALLY watched the Twilight movies yesterday since we were out of school. We (me, my mom, and my daughter) have been planning to do this for about 4 weeks now. I have never watched them because I’m not into vampire (even though I’m into almost every other scary movie out there!!! The Strangers ROCKED!). My mom has been telling me that I would like them because of the romance. So after 35 minutes of not being able to get our DVD player working (it’s amazing how important some of those little cords can be!), we finally settled in for our Twilight Marathon! Twilight, then New Moon, then Eclipse. I cannot believe I have to wait a whole week to see Breaking Dawn!!!! How will I make it? We just ordered tickets for the 7 pm show in Auburn for this Friday night! Tick-tock-tick-tock…..

Who would have thought? 🙂

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Randomness. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

