Read and Write 180-Day 69

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Are.we.on.break.yet?

Reading test today: 45 kids-1 A, 2 Bs, 15 Cs…Can you figure out the rest?????

We even did a scavenger hunt review game (again) before the test where I reworded the test questions and had them find the part in the story that…..

Guess that didn’t help either. One of my students finished their test in 6 minutes. I am not lying. Made a 53. Maybe we need to S.L.O.W. down and R.E.A.D. the questions and T.H.I.N.K. about our choices. 🙂

Anyway-I talked to another teacher in our district about this test on this particular story, and she said her kids grades took a nosedive with this one, too. So I feel MUCH better. Well, not really.

My kids just are not used to thinking at a higher level-they are used to the tests in this reading series being modified for them so they can pass and make good grades. I don’t want to modify the tests for them to pass. I want to modify their thinking. So we’re going to keep plugging away with what we are doing, but I’m going to add small group instruction to the mix. (Hopefully) 🙂

I’m thinking about moving the reading test to Fridays so that I can get in 4 full days of instruction with it. I’m also thinking of dropping spelling and part of my english and replacing it with authentic writing (which they are not really getting a lot of right now).

OK-gotta go and catch up with my 2 online classes. Already helped my daughter with her outline for her research paper. (FUN) Talk to you tomorrow! Frrriiiiddddaaaayyyyyy! 🙂

 

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on November 18, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Don’t be discouraged! Was it the selection test? I switched things up this year and it’s working so much better. I still use the selection test to review comprehension and for a class discussion, but just felt that they were WAY too difficult to get a fair assessment. Now my weekly “test” grade comes from the Fresh Reads test. I pair that with a graphic organizer relevant to the skill we are working on for the week as well as vocabulary and a genre question. With this particular class, it had worked really well. Every class is different, but just thought I would suggest it. Thanks for all your resources, I have used many in my class! Email if you want more details on my Fresh Reads tests. I would even share my vocab pages with you if you’re interested.

    • MK-

      Yes, it was the selection test. I also use the fresh read test each week (we have to have at least 10 grades per subject per 6 weeks!).

  2. This is my first year with this series and the test grades are AWFUL! I will admit, the questions are HARD!!! I hope that this will prepare them for TCAP. Prior to this I had used McMillian Treasures and they had a TCAP practice test each week with a fresh read to test the comprehension skill of the week, vocabulary, grammar, and spelling. The test was hard for the kids at first but many made 100 as the year progressed. TCAP scores were very good—not necessarily outstanding though. I am very anxious about this series. Also, this is my first year in 6th grade. When I try the fresh reads, even the ones below grade level, the scores are equally bad and there is only 5 questions. Help!!!!!!!!

    • Belewb-

      Aren’t they awful???? I don’t want to “give” the kids the test questions beforehand, but I have got to do something different. I do want them to be higher level thinkers than they are. A 4th grade teacher at my school picks the 3 hardest questions from the selection test and puts them into a study guide along with some questions that she makes up and/or a couple of the discussion questions from the teacher’s guide. I might start doing this, too. Overall they actually do better with the fresh reads than the weekly story selection test (how in the world after we have spent ALL week with the story?). 🙂 Another thing I am going to do is change my test day from Thursday to Friday so that we have 4 full days to talk about the story/skill.

      Our Alabama state reading test has to be so much easier than these weekly tests because the kids do SO well on it even after they flunk these tests! 🙂 But this year the state test is being changed so we’ll see if it’s going to be more difficult like these weekly reading tests.

      Another teacher that I have talked with does this with the fresh read test: Has them complete a graphic organizer for the fresh read, take the test, and do a vocab. test all for 1 assessment. She gives the weekly selection test, but not for a grade. However, we have to have 10 grades per subject per 6 weeks so I do the fresh read AND the selection test. I am going to start doing the graphic organizer thing too, but not sure if it will be part of the grade, maybe just to practice the skill.

      Hope something out of all this rambling helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

