Read and Write 180-Day 76

Monday, December 5, 2011

It was a great Monday! And I’m really trying to write this post but it’s so hard because Twilight is on!!! I know-I’ve become a Twi-hard! ūüôā

It was nice to see the kids since I wasn’t at school on Thursday and Friday. ūüôā 3 of my girls wrote me stories AND made me a welcome back poster!

We started off with our sentence in English which for some reason I can’t upload the picture for it tonight! That sentence doesn’t even sound right does it? I guess it’s sort of late, and my brain is not working to its capacity. ūüôā

We did our paragraph writing/corrections-so far I’ve not had to “make” anybody share their writing-there’s always someone who is frothing at the bit to have theirs displayed on the ELMO.

We transferred our rough draft of our “reindeer” persuasive writing to the job application. Tomorrow they will draw and color a reindeer-this will be the 1st thing we have drawn/made/created this year.

This week we are working with predicting and making generalizations so I read them a story out of Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul-“Grandfather Learns to Read”. I had them make simple predictions based on the title, and then we made more complex predictions and talked about the difference. As I read the story, we stopped and make more predictions. After we finished, we formed a generalization about the story and talked about faulty and valid generalizations.

Our question of the day was “How do we demonstrate our trustworthiness?” I listed their answers on the board. So I give up trying to upload ANY pictures tonight! Will do tomorrow.

We read our vocabulary story and talked about the words. Then I worked with 2 small groups-we  talked about the words again and I had them write down short definitions for each word on the back of their study guides.

THE END! DID I SAY IT WAS A GREAT DAY???? IT WAS!!!

 

 

 

 

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on December 6, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

