Read and Write 180-Day 78

I loved what we did with writing today. Maybe it wasn’t a lot of writing but I loved it anyway! 🙂 If you have been following me lately, you know that I have d.r.o.p.p.e.d. spelling from my instruction and also taken away the english workbook page that wasn’t getting us anywhere, and I have replaced those with writing. Writing has always been put on the back burner so I’m bringing it to the front! Yesterday we finished up our persuasive writing with the reindeer job applications ( will post pictures tomorrow hopefully), and we began a little unit on informative writing today. We are going to write informational reports on reindeer-real reindeer! So today I showed them a video clip about reindeer (caribou), and we read some slides full of information. Let me back up. Before we did all that, we decided “what’ we would want to research and write about in our reindeer reports. Here’s what we came up with in both classes-THEY came up with this.

1. Eating habits

2. Where they live

3. Physical characteristics

4. Habitats

So, back to the information slides. We read it and took notes. I REALLY stressed what plagiarism is and how NOT to do it! I told them how to jot down notes from the information they are reading. The notes will be what we write our reports from-NOT the articles. We talked about having at least 3 sources, especially when gathering information from the internet. I’m excited about doing this report writing with them. Here’s the link to the information/video clip we used today.

http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/kids/animals/creaturefeature/caribou/

I am proud to say that on our english tests last week the majority of the grades were A’s!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We finished reading our story today-Juan Verdades: The Man Who Couldn’t Tell a Lie. Tomorrow we will partner read it and discuss.

Only 9 days left until Christmas vacation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on December 8, 2011, in Read and Write 180, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

