Okay For Now

I just finished reading Okay For Now by Gary Schmidt, and it was everything I expected and more!!!

Doug is a normal junior high school student with a normal life. Almost. His father is a…well, I can’t really write that in this review. Let’s just say he is not the kind of father that anybody dreams about having! Doug and his family have to move to a small town-Marysville-which he thinks is “stupid”. Actually, he thinks a lot of things are “stupid”, and I agree with him about most. Doug’s personality will have you chuckling out loud at times and trying not to cry at others. Who am I kidding? I did cry while reading this book-a few times! Doug finds solace from several things-the library, the birds, drawing, his new friend, Lil, and his mom’s smile.

This is a book that will make you want to reach in and wrap your arms around Doug to comfort him. It is a must read, and was so hard to put down when I actually had to “do” things. I miss Doug already. 🙂

Here’s a book trailer from Gary Schmidt himself!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mtv3UOi9HNg

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on December 11, 2011, in A Book For You and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a good one – I’m going to get it for my son for Christmas! Thanks for the thorough review!

    Barbara

  2. Sounds like a great one! Will def. recommend it to the kids!

    Happy Holidays!

    ❤ Mor Zrihen ❤
    A Teacher’s Treasure

Leave a Reply

