It’s Monday-What are you reading?

Sheila over at Book Journey is hosting this great meme-you can join in at anytime! It’s a great way to find some books to put on your ever growing TBR list!

What are you reading this week? I have to tell you that I never finished The Day My Butt Went Psycho.

 I tried. I really tried. And may try again. But for now, there are too many great books that I want to read that make me feel and think. So for now, I’ll shelf it. 🙂

I just finished reading Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli, who I happen to love. It seems almost like a magical kind of story that wouldn’t really happen because in our society we are all so driven by the norm that most of us wouldn’t think of being different like Stargirl. She is one of a kind in a lovely way. I liked this book a lot, and Jerry’s use of some beautiful language was on the mark. Here are a couple of excerpts from the book that twinkled in my ears as I read:

     “…now I was loopy with love. I was floating. I floated up the white light that washed my sheets and slept on the moon. In school I       was a yellow balloon, smiling and lazy, floating above the classrooms.”

     “She was bendable light: she shone around every corner of my day.”

     “And then the last remaining space between our lips was gone and I was falling headlong into her eyes…..”

How beautiful is that??

Another book that was a quick read was Stir it Up by Ramin Ganeshram.

It was a good book, but not too deep. The culture that was within this book would definitely make it a tough book for my 6th graders from ALABAMA! 🙂 The main character has a passion for cooking and dreams about having her own kids’ cooking show. I enjoyed the book, but it didn’t make me think or feel, so it wouldn’t be on the top of list of  books to recommend.

I read a picture book to my 6th graders so we could work on visualization some more. An all time favorite, Santa’s Stuck by Rhonda Gowler Greene.

 It was adorable! Need I say more?

What will I read in the upcoming week? It’s hard for me to list them because I tend to change my mind often!!! I have a huge pile of books that I just bought, a huge pile that have been bought for some time, and $50 in birthday money that I have designated for some MORE books. So……. we’ll see!

What are you reading?

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on December 19, 2011, in What are you reading? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

