Read and Write 180-Day 86

Monday, December 19, 2011

I tried to teach today. I really did. But I gave up! 🙂 Today was our last full day before Christmas break-tomorrow is 1/2 day. I still had 21 out of 25 show up today (just saying that lots of kids in other grades stayed out!). When I asked them to get out their writing notebooks, you should have seen the looks on their faces! Priceless! Imagine this…..

 

 

 

 

 

So, I read them part of The Gift of the Magi by Henry O., but stopped before the ending and had them write their own ending to the story. Some of them shared their writing, then I read the rest of the book. I “think” I had their attention during this time. 🙂 But, I could see that it was quickly waning so I let them partner up and play a “Roll the” game with a die. It was a Roll a Christmas Tree game. I found it on this website: Little Giraffes They had a blast-then they colored their Christmas tree! I know, I know, I teach 6th graders, but it IS almost Christmas break! 🙂

We watched a movie-Prancer Returns, AND we went outside and played basketball for a looooong time. 🙂

The best part of my day (besides seeing and being with my adorable little angels! :)) was TEACHER SNACK DAY! 

Yum-yum!!!

Tomorrow is our LAST day before Christmas break, and it is a 1/2 day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on December 20, 2011, in Read and Write 180 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Shannon!

    By the time you read this, you will be ON VACATION! YEAH!!!
    I checked the e-mail follower function, and you are still listed.
    I may be using vocabulary I do not understand, but how about if I “deactivate” you (with love and care, of course), and then you can sign up again?
    I don’t know if that works–or makes sense–but that’s all I can think of. Shall we try that?
    Happy, HAPPY vacation, BlogFriend.
    I am always tickled when you visit my blog, so I hope we can figure out how to get reconnected.
    Merry Christmas!

    Kim

    • Kim-

      Yes please deactivate me (temporarily!), and we’ll see if that works!!! Only 2 hours and 17 minutes to go until FREEDOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

Leave a Reply

