Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli Review

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli is a must read book.

IN THREE WORDS

dreamy     genuine     unique

Stargirl is a sincere and genuine person who cares for others more than herself which makes her so out of place in her school with the other kids. They don’t know how to take her so they ridicule at first until they are so drawn to her that they want to be like her. Her popularity soars until the moment it all comes crashing down. Leo is her one true constant, but even he shies away from her at times because of her uniqueness.

Jerry Spinelli does a fine job of portraying an almost unbelievable type of person with Stargirl’s character. Is there really anyone in our society today that could be compared to Stargirl-a person who so freely gives to others without expecting anything in return, and who doesn’t even see the bad in people?

I liked this book a lot, and Jerry’s use of some beautiful language was on the mark. Here are a couple of excerpts from the book that twinkled in my ears as I read:

“…now I was loopy with love. I was floating. I floated up the white light that washed my sheets and slept on the moon. In school I       was a yellow balloon, smiling and lazy, floating above the classrooms.”

“She was bendable light: she shone around every corner of my day.”

“And then the last remaining space between our lips was gone and I was falling headlong into her eyes…..”

How beautiful is that??

If you haven’t read anything by Jerry Spinelli, this would be a great one to start with. If you have read his books-read this one, too! 🙂

My last thought on this book: I WISH I COULD BE LIKE STARGIRL

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on December 22, 2011, in A Book For You and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

