The Future of Us Book Review

The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

IN THREE WORDS

chemistry     simple     reallifeconnection 🙂

I found this book very intriguing when I read the jacket, and I was not disappointed. It was hard to put down (but twitter helped me out with that every now and then). 🙂

Emma and Josh have been best friends for years, but something changed between them awhile back. This is important to the plot! The setting is the mid 90’s right after the internet made its introduction. Emma’s dad gave her a computer and someone gave her an AOL cd-rom to install so she could hook up with the internet. This right here should be enough to appeal to ANY teenager, or adult for that matter!

What she discovers when she finally gets it installed (after a 97 minute download might I add!) is Facebook. In the future. 15 years into the future. She can see herself, read about her life, and see her friends’ futures as well including Josh. But does she want this life that she sees? Can she alter it? This is what sets her and Josh on an emotional roller coaster throughout the story, and makes them really contemplate their current lives.

Here are a couple of statements in the book that will probably make you LOL-laugh out loud!

“Why does it say she has three hundred and twenty friends? Who has that many friends?”

“Why would anyone say this stuff about themselves on the Internet? It’s crazy!”

Facebook has them completely mesmerized and perplexed at the same time. They just don’t get it!

The writing style of this book is pretty simple and straightforward. Not a lot of imagery or anything like that. But one sentence did stand out in my mind-it was an interesting way of talking about grass in the cracks of cement-

“Blades of grass push through the cracks, fighting for a taste of sunlight.”

Last thoughts on this book: It is written for teens and above because of some mature content (my 6th graders will NOT touch it). I loved the fact that even though it is a “teen” book, there was no usual “teen” meanness! It was also interesting (comical) to read about someone’s perception toward the internet and Facebook that hasn’t been living in it yet. 🙂

5 out of 5 stars!

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on December 22, 2011, in A Book For You and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oooo, thanks! You’ve given me a GREAT gift idea for my voracious teen reader that’s not vampire-related! I hope everything’s merry in your corner of the world. Happy holidays.

    Barbara
    The Corner On Character

    • It is very very merry-hope yours is ,too! Just remember that there is some mature content in the book-language content mostly, 1 making out scene. I will definitely let my 17 year old daughter read it, but my 6th graders WILL NOT be touching it! 🙂

  2. Hi Shannon:
    I hope you’ll try my e-mail button again…
    If that doesn’t work, we’ll have to investigate further.
    I would miss you!

    Kim
    Finding JOY in 6th Grade

  3. Yes, perfect – Kaitlyn is 18! Oh, and I LOVE Stargirl, too!!!

Leave a Reply

