It’s Monday-What are you reading?

I can honestly tell you that I’m about to read the back of my eyelids! 🙂

Sorry I haven’t been posting a lot lately-LIFE!:)

 Sheila over at Book Journey hosts the weekly meme for older readers (like me :)) and

Jen and Kellee over at Teach Mentor Texts host the weekly meme for younger readers (like me :)).

My reading last week was sort of slack due to, well, just life in general I guess. I’m training to run a 5k this year-OMG!-and family, training, school, part-time job, is taking up a lot of my time. Don’t get me wrong-it’s a good kind of busy-just busy! 🙂

So last week I read a total of 2 books!

Trouble Don’t Last by Shelley Pearsall

This book seemed to be a true depiction of the underground railroad. It did a great job capturing the emotions of a young slave boy who had run away.

Babymouse #4-Rock Star by Jennifer and Matt Holm

 Do I even need to say anything about this one? If you have been keeping up with me this year, I have found AND fallen in love with Babymouse! Seriously. So I don’t know what I am going to do when I get to #10 and there are no more to read. I guess I’ll have to start hounding Jennifer about writing more! 🙂

I just started Alabama Moon today and love it so far. One of my students, Courdarious, has been reading it and likes it-he’s almost finished with it. Moon is a young boy that has been left alone when his dad dies. The unique situation in this book is that they have been living and hiding out in the woods from the government, so now Moon has nobody to turn to. I can’t wait to get more into the book!

 I hope that when I finish this one, I can read a Diary of a Wimpy Kid book since I have NEVER read one before! Just go ahead and beat me! I know I should have read one since my 6th graders keep all of them checked out constantly! 🙂

And if anyone wants to be generous and do a giveaway of the rest of the Babymouse books, I will gladly lay down in the middle of the road enter the giveway! 🙂

Have a super week! Oh, yeah-I have lost 14 pounds since December 27th! Woohoo!

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on February 7, 2012, in A Book For You and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

