Need some magic

It’s plain and simple. I need some magic. Something to put the “get up and go” back in my 6th graders. 🙂 They are so tired of ARMT practice-and so am I!!! I mean it’s actually easier on me because I don’t have to really plan that much. It’s just a bunch of reading passages/questions that I have to copy. So my life as a teacher is E.A.S.Y. right now and B.O.R.I.N.G. 🙂

Every day I have them do some reading packets independently and then we go over them together discussing the why and why not for each one. Yesterday we started working on answering open ended questions (We have actually done this all year with our fresh reads). Each day we are going to answer 1 open ended question TOGETHER. I’m talking-complete teacher guidance. 🙂

We use the RAPS method that I sort of came up with this year:

R-Restate the question(Do you know how hard this is for some of them?)

A-Answer the question(This comes from their own head)

P-Prove their answer(Pulling something from the passage to prove their thoughts)

S-Sum it up

BUT, sometimes the questions don’t lend themselves to the EXACT RAPS method so that throws them OFF! 🙂

Anyway, we will continue to practice this week and the next. Our ARMT begins on April 10th. Thank goodness it is only 4 days!!!!!!! Then we will be back to normal for 1 week and then SPRING BREAK!!! Did you hear me??? FINALLY, spring break!! 🙂

Anybody else have a spring break that is late like ours?

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on March 28, 2012, in ARMT Practice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Good afternoon. Thank you for joining me on my birthday run. It is so great to get to meet and greet others. And a teacher is even better. I deal with students every day too but as their bus driver. I also have a daycare with one little one during the school year and 5 in the summer and vacations. Our spring break is mixed in with our Easter break so next Thursday (the 5th) though the 9th they are off and so am I. I’m looking forward to sleeping in a bit. My bus run starts at 6 am so I’m up at 4:45 each morning.
    Thanks for stopping by and I am going to do some reading on your blog as time allows and also sign up for you updates (it’s the easiest way for me to keep up with everyone).
    Take care Shannon and have a blessed afternoon.

    • Thanks so much for visiting my blog! 🙂 You are a rockstar to be able to get up at 4:45 am in the morning AND then to drive a school bus!!! You deserve a break!

      WOW! Your son will be a long way from home-thank goodness for technology! 🙂

      Looking forward to following your blog!

  2. Thank you so much for joining me on my birthday run. It is so cool having others join me.
    It’s also cool to have a teacher checking in on me. I loved reading some of your posts. I deal with children also, I’m a bus driver and a daycare mom so kids are my life. I also am a boyscout leader and Venture Crew chairman so kids day and evening are a huge part of me. My son is heading off to college in 3 short weeks, very far away too if you ask me. We are in Minnesota, he’s going to Wyoming but it’s the school and program for him so it’s all good.
    Our spring break is mixed into our Easter break and it starts next Thursday-Monday.
    Thanks again for stopping by. I’m going to spend some more time reading. I am also going to follow via your e-mail option. I’ll love getting to know you.
    Take care and have a blessed afternoon.
    P.S. This is comment number two, the first one disappeared or seemed to so if you get two, sorry. :o)

Leave a Reply

