Why I’ve been MIA

I know I haven’t posted a lot since January and here’s why. I started running. Enough said. 🙂

Really, I started training to run a 5k back on the 1st of January. I have now run 2 different 5k races and have lost a total of 30 pounds!! Woohoo!! So this has taken up a lot of my extra time-you know since I have to follow running blogs and then blog about my own running. 🙂

Here are 2 pictures that show my weight loss of 26 pounds. The 1st one was in December, and the 2nd one was at my 2nd 5k race on March 25th. I have lost 4 more pounds since the race. 🙂   So I apologize for not blogging more about teaching and school related things.

 

 

 

 

 

We have been practicing for the state ARMT test which will start next Tuesday-thank goodness. I am so ready to STOP this practicing, get on with real learning, and MOVE OUR DESKS BACK INTO GROUPS!! I hate dislike straight rows!

Only 2 1/2 weeks until spring break!!! YEA!!!

About shannonjoe

I teach 3rd grade. Love Jesus, teaching, reading, running, and working out.

Posted on April 4, 2012, in ARMT Practice, Weight Loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. YOU LOOK GREAT…congratulations on the running! I told you, my husband is training for the first Canton Marathon…he wants me to do the 10K (walk). Keep up the great work!

    • Nicole,

      Thanks!!

      I don’t think I could ever do a marathon!! Good luck to him and you. Are you trying to walk fast in the 10k?

  2. Shannon:
    While I have missed you (TONS), the tone of this post tells me that you are HAPPY running!
    And that makes me happy!
    Congrats on the weight loss and on the running success.

    Good luck with testing… and with moving your desks (and your teaching) back into place.

    : )
    Kim

    • Kim,

      I love your last comment about moving my teaching back into place!!! 🙂 after testing we will have 5 weeks of school left and I want to go out with a bang!!!:) especially since I won’t be teaching reading next year!!

  3. You look great!!!!!!! What an inspiration!!! How can I get to your running blog?? Did you do anything else to lose the 30 pounds?? The running is amazing, but wondered if you also did anything else. I am in desperate need to lose at least that much. I am not a runner………never exercise…….I know that is the key to weight loss. I MUST!!! I would love to follow your story for motivation. Thanks!

    • Myra,

      My running blog is http://www.everystepcounts365.wordpress.com.

      I have focused on running and watching my calories. I’ve tried to stay at about 1200 calories each day but of course have gone over that on lots of days. Recently I have actually tried to watch what I eat and eat healthier, too. At first I felt like I was starving to death. 🙂 now my body seems to have adjusted to it. Good luck. You can do it!!

  4. I think the kids will be glad to get the test over with too! At least Robbie says so. Will doesn’t say much about it either way. Oh by the way you look terrific! Wish I had your will power! way to go!
    Of course we can’t wait till spring break! Hope you have a great one!

    Sharon

  5. Wow! You look fantastic! (And SO happy!!!). Congratulations, Shannon – you are such an inspiration! I’ll bet that some of that happiness and feeling good has seeped into your classroom, too!

    Jen
    Runde’s Room

    • Thanks, Jen! Actually, I don’t think I have been getting as stressed or upset about school related things. But I can’t wait until our state tests are over so we can get back to some REAL teaching and learning and FUN! 🙂

  6. We are so proud of your commitment to running and all its added benefits. Congrats, girl.

Leave a Reply

